Employee Engagement

March 16, 2007

What is employee engagement? Simply put, it’s how much employees will champion their organization if left to their own discretionary efforts. Do they recommend it to friends? Do they evangelize?

A recent study looked at how to measure employee engagement. It presented the following contributing factors:

Trust and integrity – How well managers communicate and ‘walk the talk’.
Nature of the job – Is it mentally stimulating day-to-day?
Line of sight between employee performance and company performance – Does the employee understand how their work contributes to the company’s performance?
Career Growth opportunities – Are there future opportunities for growth?
Pride about the company – How much self-esteem does the employee feel by being associated with their company?
Coworkers/team members – They significantly influence one’s level of engagement.
Employee development – Is the company making an effort to develop the employee’s skills?
Relationship with one’s manager – Does the employee value his or her relationship with his or her manager?

There seems a lot of onus on the manager, but I do believe that the worker has some influence in how his or her career can go. Here are a couple of things employees can do to be more engaged:

1. Tell their manager and co-workers your career goals and interests. Often I was passed up for things because I didn’t tell anyone I was interested in it.

2. Find something of interest and take initiative. I was at an organization where the products I was on were cancelled or changed to a point where I felt unproductive. I used that time to try and build bridges to the outside community. It helped me get my name out there and got me more engaged with my company.

3. Network within the company. I know there are some people who think I am here to work and not to socialize, but the funny thing is you don’t know of opportunities unless you communicate. Most people achieve career goals due to the fact that they knew someone.

Here are some other blogs talking about this, giving good tips and thoughts:

Anna Famery , The Engaging Brand
5 ways to Engage

Steve Roesler, All Things Workplace
Employee Engagement: Can’t Disengage Yet

David Zinger, David Zinger on Employee Engagement
Employee Engagement: In the “Driver’s” Seat!

If I missed you (which there are probably many that I have =( ) please leave a comment and I can link to ya.

Holly

Technorati Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

